A walk around the peninsula at Pyrmont in Sydney

This is an old industrial area. Until 1934 it was also the source of sandstone used to build many of Sydney's 19th and early 20th century buildings. Now its a residential area with views of port facilities on Sydney's inner harbour. Here is a hastily compose selection of images compiled on this mornings walk around … Continue reading A walk around the peninsula at Pyrmont in Sydney

Lemnos: Heroes Behind Gallipoli

A friend and colleague, Pria Viswalingam, has recently been engaged in the development and direction of a documentary, Lemnos: Heroes Behind Gallipoli. Lemnos is one of Greece’s Aegean islands. Here is the trailer for the production. LEMNOS - HEROES BEHIND GALLIPOLI The production team Pria is working with producers Elizabeth Kaydos & Jacinta Dunn. About … Continue reading Lemnos: Heroes Behind Gallipoli

From Coogee in 1950s to Global Marine Plastic Pollution

New growth on a Norfolk Pine Coogee of the 1950s was an idyllic place for children. It had changed little since the 1930s. Great Norfolk Pine Trees populated the foreshore parks exuding a beautiful resinous scent that mingled with the smell of the sea. Coogee Beach from the southern Point, with Wylies Baths in the … Continue reading From Coogee in 1950s to Global Marine Plastic Pollution

Unspoken Realities: A Comment on the Howard Era

Recently Penny Wong was asked, What's your vision of the best Australia can be, in the world? She replied: I have a view that foreign policy is obviously an expression of the assertion and prosecution and protection of one's national interests and values; it is also the expression of identity. Referencing Gough Whitlam she continued … Continue reading Unspoken Realities: A Comment on the Howard Era

Story Readings in April

All artwork by Aurélie Charmeau My April readings are:  4 April     A Forest Encounter11 April     Bunga's Family18 April    An Invitation25 April The Honey Harvest Zoom details:Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney, 07:30 PM  UK 9.30 am Central European Time 11.30am Athens 12.30am Jakarta 4.30pm Singapore 5.30pm https://us02web.zoom.us/j/7288045094Meeting ID: 728 804 5094 The Story These readings are chapters from a … Continue reading Story Readings in April

Story Readings in March

My March readings are:  7 March     Made in Japan14 March     Magic Polygamy and Triangles21 March     First Landfall28 March An Unusual Kind of Thunder Zoom details:Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney 07:30 PM  UK8.30 am Central European Time 9.30am Athens 10.30am Jakarta 3.30pm Singapore 4.30pm Brisbane 6.30pm  https://us02web.zoom.us/j/7288045094Meeting ID: 728 804 5094 A brief review of stories  7 March     Made … Continue reading Story Readings in March

Story Readings in February

This month I'll be reading four stories. The images illustrate themes from these stories: Monday 7  Kampanye - The Campaign Procession The Campaign Procession opens in Sydney, at the height of the paranoia that typified the Howard era. Then the differences between Australia and Indonesia were amplified through fear propagated by the Australia’s mainstream news media. … Continue reading Story Readings in February